HISTORY OFTHE PASEO ARTS DISTRICT
The Paseo was developed by Oklahoman G.A. Nichols in 1929 as the first shopping district north of downtown Oklahoma City. The curved, two-block street has maintained its Spanish revival architecture with original stucco buildings and clay tile roofs still intact. The Paseo is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and the arts have always been a part of the Paseo. The Elm’s, a resident art gallery and studio built in 1920 (located at 27th and Walker), was the first Oklahoma City artist studio and gallery. In the 1950's, the Paseo was home to small businesses, student partying and jazz clubs. The 1960’s brought the counter culture with its creativity. The Paseo began its transition into an arts district in the 1970's. The first annual Paseo Arts Festival was held Memorial Day Weekend in 1977 and the Paseo Arts Association was formed in 1982 to organize and further energize its place as Oklahoma’s arts district. Today, a vibrant group of artists with substantial involvement and support from the larger community continues to build the Paseo Arts District into one of the most creative art venues in the country.
So make plans to visit this Memorial Day and enjoy the Paseo Arts Festival!
This large silk scarf has many looks depending on the way its folded. Made from 12mm habotai silk - $95.00